Why Learn at Paradise? Whether itís a Harley or Honda youíre going to be riding, learn in an environment filled with people who are truly passionate about Motorcycles. Our students are guided on a customer pathway tour that provides an introduction to each department and direct interaction with key employees. We want you to gain an understanding of how dealerships operate and give you the opportunity to speak with people who live motorcycles, in one way or another, almost every day.
Course Description Our Learn to Ride program is nearly 20 hours instruction for novice riders. The course takes place over four days and provides classroom instruction and range (on-cycle) instruction. Training motorcycles (125-250 cc) and DOT helmets are provided.
Classroom discussion and materials include risk management, riding gear, motorcycle controls and operation, riding strategy, roadway management, impairments and special riding situations like carrying passengers and group riding.
Completion cards are awarded to graduates. To receive a completion card, you must attend all classroom and on-cycle riding sessions, pass a written knowledge test and pass an on-cycle skills test. DMV waives the knowledge test and on-cycle skills test for graduates who possess a valid completion card. Riders who successfully complete Learn to Ride are eligible for insurance discounts under Oregon law.
Most participants complete the course successfully. However, there is no guarantee of course completion or graduation. Students who fail to demonstrate a minimum level of safety will be dismissed without refund.
To ride legally in Oregon, you must have a valid driver license and motorcycle endorsement or instruction permit. The penalty for riding without a motorcycle endorsement can be as much as $720 plus court costs.
Eligibility Requirements Learn to Ride participants must possess a valid driver license or motor vehicle instruction permit. A motorcycle instruction permit is not necessary. Out-of-state and international licenses and permits are accepted for course enrollment. Students younger than 18 must have a parent or legal guardian sign the required waiver form.
DOT-approved motorcycle helmet. Loaner helmets are available.
Eye protection. A helmet face shield, goggles, safety glasses, sunglasses or eyeglasses are acceptable.
Long-sleeved shirt or jacket. A motorcycle jacket is recommended.
Long pants. Lower body-clothing may have no holes or tears. Motorcycle pants are recommended.
Full-fingered gloves. Gloves must cover entire hand and fingers. Motorcycle gloves are recommended.
Boots or shoes that cover your ankles. Work boots or high-top shoes are acceptable. Sturdy motorcycle boots with low heels and good traction are recommended.
Rain gear and sunscreen
Water and soft drinks
Driverís license or motor vehicle instruction permit
Riding gear is not necessary for the first and second nights in the classroom. Bring your riding gear for all other Learn to Ride sessions.
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 3:30 pm
7:30 am - 3:30 pm
Registration and Fees
The cost of our four day Learn to Ride course is $249. Payment is due within 72 hours of your online registration. We will contact you within that timeframe to process credit card payments. Cash or check payments need to be made at our dealership within 72 hours of registration to reserve your spot in the class.
No refunds for cancelations that are less than 7 days prior to the beginning of your scheduled Learn to Ride Course.
Register online or call (503) 924-3700 and ask about our Learn to Ride program.